“Potentially Hazardous Asteroid”

According to the report I heard on Paul Harvey (audio link) this morning, a half-mile wide asteroid will come uncomfortably close to the Earth during the early morning hours of July 3rd.


According to the article I found on MSNBC, "...the latest calculations show that Asteroid 2004 XP14 will pass closest to Earth at 04:25 UT on July 3 (12:25 a.m. EDT or 9:25 p.m. PDT on July 2). The asteroid’s distance from Earth at that moment will be 268,624-miles (432,308 km), or just 1.1 times the Moon’s average distance from Earth... Due to the proximity of its orbit to Earth and its estimated size, this object has been classified as a “Potentially Hazardous Asteroid” by the Minor Planet Center in Cambridge, Massachusetts. There are currently 783 PNAs."

Hope scientist's calculations are correct... otherwise, I have visions of "Deep Impact" in my head.

Hmmmm... guess there's not much I can do if they aren't right.

Oh well.


UPDATE 07.03.06:
It didn't hit us... but it came close though...
Within like 293,000 miles or something like that.

No comments: